I had some so-called “liberal” teachers in high school. However it wasn’t until I started attending the University of Michigan in the leftist town of Ann Arbor that I first encountered the true Social Justice Warriors. I started there as a freshman in 1988. I didn’t apply for the Honors College, but looking back I should have. Many of my friends were in the Honors College, and they were reading classic literature, including Plato and Aristotle. They would tell me about what they learned, so I learned about some of these classic ideas secondhand. I clearly remember my friend telling me about Plato’s allegory of the cave late one night, which I had never heard of before.  I was majoring in Anthropology and ended up in a lot of classes that were certainly pushing a different agenda than passing on ideas from the great minds of Western Civilization.

The other night on Jeopardy I was very annoyed that I knew the answer to a question about Toni Morrison and her book The Bluest Eye.  In college I had to read not only The Bluest Eye but also the even more horrible Morrison book, Song of Solomon. These books are just downright trash. I don’t know how else to describe them. I can’t believe my education at a supposedly prestigious Big Ten university was taken up by this nonsense. Beyond the classes required for my major, I was allowed to choose whatever ridiculous classes I wanted to take. Some of them were fine, but others were an incredible waste of time.

And then there were the students. I remember one girl saying to me with a straight face that there was “no difference between men and women”. One day my friends and I went to a play at the Unitarian church, where the entire play was based on parents who had a child they named “Baby X”.  They refused to tell anyone what the gender was. They dressed the baby in neutral colors and gave Baby X gender-neutral toys. The whole plot was about how annoyed people were that the parents refused to disclose the gender and how smugly superior the parents were for refusing to disclose it. You can just imagine the tedium. This was back in 1989. Today you see such things on primetime TV, but at the time it was quite unusual.

In April 1989, the Grateful Dead played at the stadium in Ann Arbor. My friends and I went to see them. One of my friends ended up having terrible stomach cramps and had to go to the emergency room.  Two of us accompanied him to the hospital, but only one of us could go back with the sick friend. I was left in the waiting room for many hours by myself.

The first thing I noticed was that I was sitting across from a very primitive looking man who was reading a hunting magazine. I have nothing against hunting, as both my father and brother were avid hunters. It was more of the mannerisms and communication style of this man and his wife that caught my attention. I saw so clearly that they were operating on a very primitive level, although stuck there in the middle of modern civilization in a world -class hospital. The words of one of my leftist friends came to me, because she argued that everyone was equally capable of doing anything, and basically that there is no such thing as differences in intelligence. This is such blatant absurdity, that I can’t believe anyone who is capable of putting a sentence together could include such a ridiculous idea in the sentence!

The next encounter I had in the waiting room was when I was watching the TV local news coverage of the Grateful Dead concert in parking lot activity. We had just been there at the somewhat wild scene. A black lady was watching it also. When the interviewer was talking to some of the deadheads, the lady started laughing. I was a little offended, because some of my friends were among the crowd. So I just asked her why she was laughing. She said “I’m just laughing to keep from crying.”  There was something incredibly poignant about her statement. She then told me about how her daughter had just been in a car accident and they were frantically trying to save her life in the emergency room. I no longer was even the tiniest bit offended by her laughter, of course. In that moment it was clear that we were united as humans, and any differences were set aside.

