On April 4, 1989, I was a student at the University of Michigan. I had a vague idea that there was an important basketball game going on, but I really paid very little attention to sports and did not attend even one sporting event during my time as a student there. I had some homework to do, so I was walking to the computer lab. I came upon the scene described in the newspaper article above.

The article says the police got the crowd under control by 4AM and that they eventually used riot gear.  That is not what I saw earlier in the evening.  First I saw the students turning over cars, smashing windows, throwing beer bottles, and hanging from the traffic light.  Then I saw a line of policemen watching them from the shadows, lined up against the wall on the opposite side of the street from where the students were destroying the Chinese restaurant.  It was shocking enough to see the police doing nothing while these rich, white kids tore up the town and destroyed property because their team had WON some kind of “important” basketball game.  But what I saw next would shock me the most and leave a lasting bitter taste in my mouth about law “enforcement”.

A young black man in dreadlocks came up to one of the policemen and said what I had been thinking: “Why are you just standing there? Why aren’t you doing anything” Guess what happened next?  The police arrested the black man and put him in the back of the squad car and drove away.  They said he was interfering with a police officer.  I don’t know what his final charge was.  I knew him vaguely as a local, who was friends with another student who lived in my dorm.  As a young 18-year-old, somewhat naive young woman, I was shocked that the white students were allowed to blatantly and violently disregard the law, but the young black man was arrested for questioning why the police did nothing.  The black man never touched the police or used anything but words.

I was reminded of this situation when seeing pictures of the Berkeley police similarly standing down when violent Antifa thugs attacked Trump supporters, including women and the elderly.  The patriot known as Based Stick Man took matters into his own hands.

IMG_3086.JPG

 

“Riot Follows Michigan NCAA Win : Michigan Fans’ 5-Hour Rampage Causes Damage, Injuries”:  http://articles.latimes.com/1989-04-04/sports/sp-1133_1_michigan-fans

” Michigan U. to Get Bill for Vandalism”: http://articles.latimes.com/1989-04-07/sports/sp-1380_1_street-signs

